One Thing

There is something indomitable about “one thing” people. They are so focused on their purpose, little can distract them. Christian music artist Rich Mullins declared his own purpose in a song called “My One Thing”.

“Who have I in heaven but You, Jesus, and what better could I hope to find down here on earth?
I could  cross the most distant reaches of this world, but I’d just be wasting my time ‘cause I’m certain already,I’m sure I’d find ….You’re my one thing, You’re my one thing.”

Rich Mullins only lived 42 years, yet he impacted millions through his Christ-centered music and a lifestyle patterned after his Savior. He lived simply on a Navajo reservation in New Mexico, where he taught music to children. The profits from his highly successful music career provided him a modest salary, with the rest going to charity. His faith can be understood by a quote he gave at a concert shortly before his death. “Christianity is about learning to love like Jesus loved. Jesus loved the poor and Jesus loved the broken.”
In Psalm 27:4, King David declared himself a “one thing” person.
“One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to seek Him in His temple.”
David’s “one thing” in life was to live in God’s presence and by His purpose. God called him “a man after My own heart.” In spite of sins and failures, David lived his life in pursuit of intimacy with God, whom he had loved and worshiped since boyhood. Giving into sin pulled him off course for a time, yet repentance before God brought forgiveness and a renewed zeal to seek after Him.
The apostle Paul’s pursuit of  Christlikeness was his singular goal; one he did not expect to attain in his earthly life, but one which he pressed on to realize in heaven.
“But one thing I do: forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” (Phil. 3:13-14)
Like David, Paul recognized the need to leave behind mistakes of the past in order to stay focused on his “one thing”; knowing Christ. The passion and energy needed to pursue a life goal can quickly be weakened by encumbrances of past sins or reliance on previous achievements.
There are many “one thing” people focused on pursuing their dream; some with admirable goals and some absorbed only in self fulfillment. Ultimately, there is only one thing worth pursuing in this life, resulting in a glorious culmination in heaven, far beyond any earthly attainments; the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

