A Signet Ring

On my twelfth birthday my father gave me a simple gold signet ring engraved with my initials. On the inside was carved “ 1967, Love, Dad”. I treasured that ring because it was a visible reminder of my father’s love for me and that I belonged to him as his precious daughter.
In the small Old Testament book of Haggai, God uses a signet ring to symbolize His guarantee to Zerubbabel, governor of Judah, that someday the Messiah descended from David, will come. “In that day, says the Lord of hosts, will I take you, O Zerubbabel, My servant, the son of Shealtiel, says the Lord, and will make you (through the Messiah, your descendant) My signet ring; for I have chosen you (with whom to renew My covenant to David’s line), says the Lord of hosts.” – Haggai 2:23  (Amplified Bible). Zerubbabel is mentioned in the genealogy of Jesus Christ recorded in Matthew 1 and Luke 3.
In Old Testament times a signet ring was a seal that functioned as a signature and was worn on one’s finger. It could be used as a pledge or guarantee of full payment. In Genesis 41, Pharaoh gives Joseph his signet ring as a symbol of royal authority, and in Esther 8, King Xerxes seals his royal decree with his signet ring, assuring the safety of the Jewish people.
As believers in the Lord Jesus Christ, we are sealed with His signet ring representing His authority over us. That seal is the Holy Spirit. “Having believed, you were marked in Him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession…to the praise of His glory.” – Eph.1:13-14.
Just as I was proud to wear my father’s signet ring, I also want my life to display the signature of Jesus, His Holy Spirit working in and through me. Only through the power of the Holy Spirit can I emanate Christ-like qualities which will make a difference in my circle of influence. Wearing the signet ring of Christ means I am His representative here on earth, desiring to sign His name on a hurting world with the fruits of the Spirit; love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. I do not flinch under His ownership because “it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, and set His seal of ownership on us, and put His Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.” – 2 Cor. 1:22-23
Just as in Haggai, the Lord chose Zerubbabel to continue David’s line until the coming of the Messiah, we too are chosen to be His signet ring stamped with the Holy Spirit who guarantees the fulfillment of all His promises, which are “Yes” and “Amen” in Christ.

One thought on “A Signet Ring

  1. Joy Walker says:

    Valerie, thank you so much for this delightful writing. How true that “I am His and He is mine”. We are sealed with the pledge of His love both now and forever! It would be wonderful if we two couples could get together for a meal soon. Please let me know if you would be free to some over for supper — what night is best for you both? Tuesday and Thursdays are out for us. Please give me a call soon. Love Joy

    Like

Leave a Reply

