Like the First Morning

DSCF1045At first there is an awareness of light, a slight fading of darkness around the curtain edges, then I drift back to sleep. When next I open my eyes, my bedroom is glowing with cheery yellow sunlight and bird song heralds a new day.

Near the end of a long, cold winter I find myself yearning for warmth and light. When spring first shows itself in the early dawn light, my spirits begin to lift too. Now in May my kitchen gets the full benefit of morning light so I throw open the window, smell the new growth and revel in merry robin song. My bare feet bathe in cool dew as I walk across the grass with coffee mug in hand. The air has a clarity, a sparkle scintillating my senses. As I sit outside in a lawn chair, my morning time with God takes on a freshness, with no walls between me and His glorious creation.

“And there was evening and there was morning — the first day.” – Genesis 1:5

Morning is a daily reminder of God’s ever-faithful promises to me. Since the very first morning, He has had me on His heart, desiring to walk with me in the close relationship of Creator and created. Every morning I am given a new beginning, a new opportunity to live afresh the life God has purposed for me. Morning speaks of God’s limitless forgiveness and compassion.

“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.” – Lamentations 3:22-24

Mornings help me keep short accounts with God. Early I ask for forgiveness for yesterday’s mistakes and failures, and He is always faithful to give it. With a clean slate I can face the new day without barriers between myself and my Saviour.

“In the morning, O Lord, You hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before You and wait in expectation.” – Psalm 5:3

My time with Him in the morning is the time I receive direction for the day ahead. I may have plans that He wants to change, or He may have a special directive in His word that I need to read. Fortunately, I am a “morning person”, with energy and freshness of thinking at their peak first thing in the day.

More than any other message, mornings speak to me of God’s love. Refreshed from a night’s sleep, my soul is open and ready in the morning to receive anew the message of His love for me. Jesus Christ, God’s son, the bright Morning Star, rose from the dead at dawn’s first light. With His first resurrected step into the day, He declared a boundless love for His children.

“Let the morning bring me word of Your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in You. Show me the way I should go, for to You I entrust my life.” – Psalm 143:8

“Praise with elation,
Praise ev’ry morning,
God’s recreation
Of the new day!”

– from the hymn “Morning Has Broken” by Eleanor Farjeon

4 thoughts on “Like the First Morning

  1. Lori says:

    Psalm 143:8 is the scripture God gave me for this year…I love it!

    Like

  2. Heidi Viars says:

    Morning … my favorite time with the Lord … maybe because I remember that His mercies are new every morning 🙂 Thank you for these beautiful words!!!

    Like

  3. I especially liked the line that read, “no walls between me and his glorious creation.” Looking forward to more outside time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

