An Atmosphere of Thanksgiving

IMG_1077

“He himself gives everyone life and breath and everything else.
From one man He made all the nations,  that they should inhabit the whole earth;  and He marked out their appointed times in history and the boundaries of their lands. God did this so that they would seek Him and perhaps reach out for Him and find Him, though He is not far from any one of us. For in Him we live and move and have our being.”  (Acts 17:25-28 NIV)

In the twilight between sleep and wakefulness, I become aware of my breathing; the rhythmic intake and outflow of air continuing as it has since my first infant cry.
And I am thankful to God, who gives me life and breath and everything else.

Often I find myself thinking about the bond I have with all people, whether near or far, for we are made in the same image with common needs, desires and dreams.
And I am thankful to God, because my origins began in one person from whom He populated the whole earth, with many diverse cultures and nations.

Whenever I suffer from a sense of insignificance, I remember that my life has specific parameters in time so I might fulfill the purposes for which it was created.
And I am thankful to God, who determines in His providence when, where and how I live.

So God gave me life and breath. He gave me the faces of others in which to see myself. He gave me an appointed destiny within time. Why?

God did this so that I would seek Him and perhaps reach out for Him and find Him, though He is not far from any one of us. For in Him I live and move and have my being.

In God I live and move and have my being. My entirety is captured in that one brief sentence, causing such a welling up of gratitude, I feel I may burst with the vitality of it. He fashioned my being, my connection with others, my function in the world, so that I would seek Him and reach out for Him. He planted eternity in my heart, where nothing else would satisfy but Himself. And in my seeking He is not far, because His desire is for communion with me.

I am made in the “imago Dei”, the image of God, according to Genesis 1:26-27. I am representative of the crown of His creation, possessing the ability to reason, moral volition, relational capabilities, and inherent spirituality. God did not give the animals the ability to think outside themselves, to ask the big questions of life or be aware of their own future death.

With these uniquely human qualities comes the capacity for much pain, despair and sin. But these qualities also provide a great capacity for worship, for joy, for gratitude given to God, Creator of heaven and earth and the lover of my soul.

God has given me ….
                        life and breath and everything else,
                             appointed times and boundaries,
               the ability to seek Him, reach for Him and find Him.

He is not far from me, nor has He ever been, even when my back was turned to Him.
The fact is, He is as close as my very breath, because I am created in His image to live and move and have my being.

May thanksgiving to God be the atmosphere of my days forever.

 

Leave a Reply

